This article was published in the Greensburg Daily News on June 16, 2o15.

BATESVILLE – Dozens of students from east central and southeastern Indiana were honored by U.S. Rep. Luke Messer on May 26 for their academic achievement during the 2014-2015 school year.

Congressman Messer presented the top male and female eighth grade students from middle schools in Indiana’s 6th Congressional District with Eighth Grade Scholar Awards. Each student was given a certificate of academic excellence and a scholarship from Ivy Tech worth three free dual-enrollment class credit hours.

The annual ceremony is sponsored by Hillenbrand and Ivy Tech Community College. This year, the third for the event, was hosted at Batesville High School.

Among those receiving awards were several students from Decatur County. Trent Nobbe, Eugena Mack, Josh Nobbe, Annie Gant and Jonathan Reading were honored at the ceremony.

Also receiving awards was Jennings County eighth grader Thomas Schuler, son of Todd Schuler and Missy Hensley and grandson to Decatur County residents Bob and Roberts Kroger and Mike and Caroline Schuler.

“These students should be very proud of their academic achievement,” said Congressman Luke Messer. “It’s an honor every year to be able to recognize outstanding young people in our area for their dedication to their education.  I hope that this award encourages these rising 9th graders to continue to strive for excellence and to be leaders both inside and outside of the classroom.”

Chris Lowery, Chancellor of Ivy Tech, says he looks forward to this awards ceremony every year. “It allows for the intentional opportunity to recognize and honor these young students, who exemplify academic excellence and achievement,” said Lowery. “More broadly, this awards program helps to build on the culture of educational attainment we are striving to create in Indiana. I am proud of these students and am certain they will continue their successes into high school, college and their future careers.”

Students were selected by their teachers at each individual school to receive the Eighth Grade Scholar Award.